top of page
  • Writer's pictureBRC

Christine

BRC made me feel like everything that I did was appreciated.

Christine


volunteers with BRC's Outreach team and also has run a writing group at both Clyde Burton House and the Men's Assessment center since March 2015.


WHEN YOU FIRST STARTED SUPPORTING BRC, WHAT WERE YOU HOPING YOUR EXPERIENCE WOULD BE LIKE?

I was just hoping to lend a hand. I wanted to support an organization whose goals were worthwhile and had a lot of integrity. I didn’t think my contribution would make a difference but BRC made me feel like everything that I did was appreciated.

I learned the best way to support BRC is to simply show up and show a willingness to listen and meet people where they currently are at in their lives. Small actions have powerful impacts.


WHAT HAS BEEN THE MOST REWARDING THING ABOUT YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH BRC?

The most rewarding part has been feeling more connected with the NYC community on a deeper, kinder and more meaningful level. Your support is one of the most rewarding ways to make a positive, lasting difference in a person’s life and to give back to the NYC community.


WHAT HAS BEEN THE MOST POWERFUL MOMENT YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WHILE SUPPORTING BRC?

When I was leading a creative writing workshop at The Clyde Burton House.

We wrote about our lives and shared our work. It was a powerful experience for everyone. We spent time every week listening to each another in an honest, unpretentious manner. Through our writings, we collectively celebrated moments in our lives when we had success, laughed at mishaps, shared our joys, and grieved the losses we had experienced. By simply listening to one another and offering our stories, we created a small community of unique individuals that treated one another with respect and dignity.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page