top of page
  • Writer's pictureBRC

Pamela

I had heard so many great things about the work that BRC does for the homeless and the formerly homeless that I wanted to be part of it.

Pamela

has been a volunteer with BRC since October 2015.

She has offered her services with cooking classes and our annual gala, all while studying as a full-time student at NYU.


WHY DID YOU FIRST START SUPPORTING BRC?

I had heard so many great things about the work that BRC does for the homeless and the formerly homeless that I wanted to be part of it. I first went to a volunteer orientation in 2015 but it wasn't until I volunteered for the Gala that I met some very friendly volunteers, and found the perfect volunteer opportunity for me: a cooking class.


WHAT HAS BEEN THE MOST POWERFUL MOMENT YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WHILE SUPPORTING BRC? WHY WAS IT POWERFUL?

It was probably the experience of volunteering at Christmas. The combination of so many volunteers who chose to spend their Christmas at BRC, decorating the dining rooms and serving residents, and the dignity and kindness felt between volunteers and guests was a really beautiful thing (knowing how difficult the day must have been for them). It wasn’t all smiles but it was real and a privilege to be in their house and spend the holiday together.


IS THERE ANYTHING ELSE THAT YOU'D LIKE TO SHARE?

Most weeks, I try to make something very healthy in cooking class. One night (a particularly cold night). I decided I wanted us to make something really nourishing, and maybe a little less healthy. I decided to make jambalaya. At first there were only a few people who came to cook. But as we starting chopping vegetables and slicing chicken, more people trickled in to the activity room. One of the residents even went to their room and brought a sprig of fresh oregano to use in the dish. There was a lot of talk about favorite foods and where people grew up. When we finished, there were ten or twelve people downstairs and a steaming pot of jambalaya. I just remember the wonderful feeling of warmth and the smiles and laughter.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page