top of page
  • Writer's pictureBRC

Samina

Each week I learn something new about a client or myself.

Samina

is a weekly arts and crafts volunteer at one of BRC's housing locations, where she's been volunteering since 2014.


WHEN YOU FIRST STARTED SUPPORTING BRC, WHAT WERE YOU HOPING YOUR EXPERIENCE WOULD BE LIKE? HAS IT BEEN LIKE THAT? WHY OR WHY NOT?

I have always loved helping people. After serving both Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner I felt I wanted to do more for my community on a weekly basis. I had volunteered to help with the art class because I have a background in art and it's something I am passionate about. I started coordinating classes with another volunteer and we really got to know the clients individually. I have learned a lot from the clients at the BRC. And we spend every Tuesday sharing stories and snacks, listening to nostalgic old music and they express themselves through art and sometimes poetry, I am really happy I decided to support this organization and hope to continue.


WHAT KEEPS YOU MOTIVATED AND ENGAGED IN YOUR SUPPORT WITH BRC?

The relationships I have established with the clients. I have known some of them for years now. You always want to visit and catch up with your friends. [We] created a very fun atmosphere. We call it feel good Tuesdays. I look forward to seeing how they are and how their week went.


WHAT HAS BEEN THE MOST POWERFUL MOMENT YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED WHILE SUPPORTING BRC? WHY WAS IT POWERFUL?

Volunteering for Thanksgiving last year. I hung out with the clients for Thanksgiving because my family lives in another state. It was really amazing and a lot of fun. I felt like I was at dinner with family. You become close with clients spending time with them. I didn't feel alone that day. It made me appreciate the clients a lot. We have a very supportive community.


WHAT HAVE YOU LEARNED FROM SUPPORTING BRC THAT YOU WOULD NOT HAVE LEARNED ANYWHERE ELSE?

I have learned a lot. The stories and insight from clients is a lifetime of experience. I have learned compassion, and that we have a solid community. Each week I learn something new about a client or myself. I am thankful for that. I have also learned a lot about music over the years. We listen to a lot of the stuff the clients grew up listening to.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page